ENROLL TODAY

PARENT TAUGHT

DRIVER EDUCATION

Safe, convenient, and simple.

WHY CHOOSE US?

  • null

    State Approved

    TDLR Certified.

  • null

    Available Anywhere

    Just add internet!
    PC, Mobile, Tablet.

  • null

    DPS Driving Test

    Take your test with us!

  • null

    6hr Learner Permit

    After 6 hours  & in-car parent guidance.

  • null

    FREE Permit

    Electronic certificate delivery.

  • null

    Parents Guide

    In depth guide to in-car training.

Course Details

With our Parent-Taught Driver Ed (PTDE) course, you and a parent or approved guardian work together to learn safe driving skills and the rules of the road. They’ll supervise your practice driving to satisfy the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)-required 44 hours of behind-the-wheel driving. Plus, you could save some serious cash because you won’t have to pay for in-person driving school classes. Click here to download the program process at-a-glance

 

Here’s what you’ll learn:

 

  • Traffic Laws
  • Driver Preparation
  • Vehicle Movements
  • Risk Reduction and Management
  • Distractions
  • Alcohol and Other Drugs
  • Adverse Conditions
  • And more
How Does It Work?

Each student and parent is required to request approval to complete the parent-taught driver education by completing a TDLR application. Once you have been approved, the TDLR will send you a Parent Taught Driver Ed Program Guide filled with information and forms. Once your TDLR guide has been received, you will be able to begin the online course material necessary to apply for your first Texas learner’s license and driver’s license. The Parent Taught Program is an alternative for opting to take drivers education in formal school setting, but also comes with some important roles and responsibilities.

Texas Drivers Permit

Teens 15–17 can apply for their drivers permit after completion of the 1st unit. The student and parent or legal guardian must bring all required forms (which are included in the program guide you receive from the TDLR) to their local Texas Department of Public Safety office.

Take Your Permit Test Online

Students using our parent-taught program will have the option to upgrade and skip the stress and hassle of taking the written test at the DPS. Our DPS-approved online permit exam is a convenient option that allows you to attempt the official permit test online in the comfort of your home. Students who elect to take the permit test online will receive notation on their certificate as proof of completion; students who do not take the test online will be required to complete the exam at the DPS office. If you have any questions about this process, simply contact our live 24/7 support and we will help to answer any questions you may have.

F.A.Q

How old do I need to be to take Parent-Taught Driver Education?

If you’re 14–17 years old, you’re eligible for Parent-Taught Driver Education. You can start the course as early as 14 years of age, but have to wait until you turn 15 to apply for your learner’s permit.

How long is the Parent-Taught Driver Education course?

The course is a state-required minimum of 32 hours of online instruction. The first module, which you must complete to get a learner’s permit, is six hours long.

What is Parent Taught Driver Education?

Parent Taught Drivers Ed simply means teens take the classroom phase of drivers ed with ADS and complete the in-car training phase with a parent. Go mom and dad!

Who can take Parent Taught Driver Education?

Students ages 14-17 with a parent or guardian who have their license. Parents/guardians are ineligible if they’ve had their license revoked in last three years or more than six points on their record.After six hours of fun, you’ll be ready to take the permit test! With ADS you get access to 200+ Permit Test practice questions plus unlimited Permit Test retries. And as soon as you pass, we’ll send you an email with your Permit Test certification!

 

What Is Included?

Our course includes everything you will need to learn to drive along with everything your parent or guardian will need to know in order to teach you. We also offer support for students and parents. Call us anytime at (512) 280 4499 if you have any questions.

HOW TO GET YOUR LICENSE

SO HOW DO I GET STARTED?

If you haven’t already, request a drivers ed packet from Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). This is required for ALL online Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed courses. Already did this? You can start the course immediately upon signing up for ADS!

WHAT DO I DO AFTER I GET MY PACKET FROM THE TDLR?

After six hours of fun, you’ll be ready to take the permit test! With ADS you get access to 200+ Permit Test practice questions plus unlimited Permit Test retries. And as soon as you pass, we’ll send you an email with your Permit Test certification!

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I PASS MY PERMIT TEST?

Bring the certificate we email you to the DMV to get your driving permit. Then drive, drive, drive! Once you’ve completed 44 hours of driving practice with a parent/guardian, finish the online ADS Course. Within 90 days of your in-car exam, you must also complete the Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) course, a free, 1-hour video course provided online by the Texas DPS.

FINISHED THE ADS COURSE – NOW WHAT?

After we email you your certificate of drivers ed completion, schedule and pass a driving test at the DMV office. Once you pass, a drivers license is yours!

COURSE SYLLABUS

  • null

    UNIT 1

    • Module 1:   Texas Traffic Laws
    • Module 2:   Operating a Vehicle
  • null

    UNIT 2

    • Module 3:   Basic Maneuvering
    • Module 4:   Driver Readiness
  • null

    UNIT 3

    • Module 5:   Risk Reduction
    • Module 6:   Environmental Factors
  • null

    UNIT 4

    • Module 7:   Distractions
    • Module 8:   Drugs & Alcohol
  • null

    UNIT 5

    • Module 9:   Adverse Conditions
    • Module 10:  Vehicle Requirements
  • null

    UNIT 6

    • Module 11:   Consumer Responsibility
    • Module 12:   Personal Responsibility

ABOUT THIS COURSE

  • COURSE STRUCTURE
    The course has twelve teaching units. The materials are completely online. After each unit is a review quiz, to help you learn the content.
  • COURSE DURATION
    You can finish the course at your own pace – most people take around 32 hours. However, Texas requires you to do it over at least 16 days – so start now to avoid delaying your license.
  • FINAL QUIZ
    At the end is an online final quiz to get your certificate. There are 50 multiple choice questions, and you need 80% to pass. After taking the course, you will find it easy to pass. If you have any problems, you can keep taking the test (for free) until you pass.
  • FREE DELIVERY
    We will mail your certificate of completion via U.S. mail. Faster delivery options are available if you need the certificate sooner

Take the first step towards your license with us!

READY TO GET STARTED?
SIGN UP NOW
We’re here to help! Call us if you need to.

Austin Driving School offers the highest quality driving instructors, course materials, and vehicles when driving. Safety is our number one concern so all of our vehicles are in mechanically sound condition. Our instructors have decades of experience behind them and strive to go the extra mile when it comes to helping you understand driving concepts, road laws, and vehicle safety.

Interested in private driving licenses, or further classwork / instruction? Give us a call. We offer packages to help everybody accomplish the tasks needed to acquire a drivers license.

  • Private driving lessons.
  • DPS Driving Tests
  • Driving Test Preparations
HAVE A QUESTION?