Steps to get your license.
Getting your drivers license is an exciting and long awaited event for most teens. Your drivers license offers you a great new freedom but does not come without new responsibilities. While getting your drivers license is a fun and memorable experience, there is a lot to accomplish and keep track of along the way.
Below you will find everything you need to know regarding eligibility requirements. We have also compiled different resources that will help you along the way and can be downloaded below.
In order to receive your drivers license in Texas, teens must complete 32 hours of driving and safety theory, 7 hours of driving and 7 hours of observing other students, and lastly an additional 30 hours of driving must be completed and logged before being issued your license. Austin Driving School offers teen driving course on, and offline with 18 convenient locations throughout Texas.
Teens can enroll in a drivers ed. program as early as 14 years old. When selecting your course make sure to consider both the theory and the behind the wheel segment of the training. Our drivers education course is fully integrated, making it the most comprehensive teen drivers ed. course around.
After the first three days of the course you will receive a certificate to apply for your learners permit. You will take this certificate to the DPS along with the other required identification documents. When completed you are ready to begin scheduling driving hours.
Before receiving your completion certificate, you will have successfully completed 32 hours of theory work as well as a minimum of 7 hours of driving and 7 hours of observation with a certified driving school instructor or through a registered parent-taught program. Remember that learning to drive is a learned skill that requires practice and study. National Standards recommend at least 10 hours of behind the wheel professional instruction.
The 81st legislature enacted the Less Tears More Years Act requiring teens to log an additional 30 hours of behind the wheel driving with a certified instructor or parent/guardian. At least 10 of these hours must take place after dark, and Austin Driving School can provide some or all of these hours for you.
Avoid the hassle of taking your driving test at the DPS office. Austin Driving School is authorized to offer the official DPS Road Test at many of our 18 locations. Get your license in familiar surroundings, and in complete comfort. Whether you take your Road Test with us or choose to wait and take it with the DPS, you will first need to take the two-hour online IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers Course.
To get your license, you will need to provide a DE-964 completion certificate, your IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers completion Certificate, 30 hour driving log, and VOE. After completing all requirements, you will then take the DPS Road Test. If you choose to take the Road Test with us, we will provide you with an envelope to exchange for your license at the DPS.
Below you will find checklists and resources that will help you understand the course requirements and the steps to getting your learners permit / drivers license. We know there is a lot to take in and we are here to answer your questions and help you along the way. This list of resources is a good place to start.
Everything you need to get on the road!
Get driving today!
After the course checklist.
We know better than anyone how complicated and nerve wrecking preparing for your drivers license can be. That’s why we are here for you every step of the way. Helping you ensure that you have all of the documentation needed, complete all necessary requirements, and ultimately prepare you for the DPS Road and Written test.
If you have any unanswered questions after browsing our website feel free to call our customer support line and one of our trained representatives will help you find the answers you need!