Pick the program that works for you!
We offer Traditional, Online, and Parent Taught Driver Education Programs.
Learning to drive is a process that needs to be done in a safe and controlled manner. It’s a learned skill-set and one of the most important aspects to most people’s lives. With today’s roadways and growing number of motorists it is more important than ever to become a safe driver. The best method to become a safe driver while acquiring your license is to spend hours of time practicing with a certified driving instructor.
If these packages do not apply to your current situation, please give us a call at (512) 280 4499 and we will help you find the most efficient solution.
FREE after school pickup available for most locations!
Supplemental Driving Lessons -$40/hr
($55/hr if you did not train with us)
In order to receive your drivers license in Texas, teens must complete 32 hours of theory, 7 hours of driving and 7 hours of observing other students, and lastly an additional 30 hours of driving must be completed and logged before being issued your license. Austin Driving School offers teen driving course on, and offline with 18 convenient locations throughout Texas.
Teens can enroll in a drivers ed. program as early as 14 years old. When selecting your course make sure to consider both the theory and the behind the wheel segment of the training. Our drivers education course is fully integrated, making it the most comprehensive teen drivers ed. course around.
After the first three days of the course you will receive a certificate to apply for your learners permit. You will take this certificate to the DPS along with the other required identification documents. When completed you are ready to begin scheduling driving hours.
Before receiving your completion certificate, you will have successfully completed 32 hours of theory work as well as a minimum of 7 hours of driving and 7 hours of observation with a certified driving school instructor or through a registered parent-taught program. Remember that learning to drive is a learned skill that requires practice and study. National Standards recommend at least 10 hours of behind the wheel professional instruction.
The 81st legislature enacted the Less Tears More Years Act requiring teens to log an additional 30 hours of behind the wheel driving with a certified instructor or parent/guardian. At least 10 of these hours must take place after dark, and Austin Driving School can provide some or all of these hours for you.
Avoid the hassle of taking your driving test at the DPS office. Austin Driving School is authorized to offer the official DPS Authorized Road Test at many of our 18 locations. Get your license in familiar surroundings, and in complete comfort. Whether you take your Road Test with us or choose to wait and take it with the DPS, you will first need to take the two-hour online IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers Course.
To get your license, you will need to provide a DE-964 completion certificate, your IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers completion Certificate, 30 hour driving log, and VOE. After completing all requirements, you will then take the DPS Authorized Road Test. If you choose to take the Road Test with us, we will provide you with an envelope to exchange for your license at the DPS.
While we most commonly help teens work towards achieving their drivers license in the complete drivers education course, we also offer services to help young drivers regardless of where they are in the process. If you have started your drivers training elsewhere and would like to transfer to Austin Driving School, simply give us a call. One of our customer support representatives will develop a custom program that will help you complete your lessons and move towards your drivers license.
Interested in supplemental driving lessons, or further instruction? Give us a call. We offer packages to help everybody accomplish the tasks needed to acquire a drivers license.